Law School by the numbers

numbersI notice a trend among 3L’s…we have become mathematicians.  Well maybe not full-fledged mathematicians, but we are sure doing a lot of counting these days…most of which is counting down.  I know I am as guilty of this as anyone…in just a few hours I will be down to 3 days of showing up for classes.  Notice I didn’t say 3 days left…so maybe some of that “thinking like a lawyer” has sunk in over the last 3 years because I am counting in a light most favorable to my position.  This counting down has got me thinking about some things…so here goes my law school experience by the numbers. (Please excuse my math if a few of these are rounded off, after all if I could do real math I would have gone to medical school…right?)

1003 days from the first to the last day of law school (broken down in other ways that’s 86,659,200 seconds, or 1,444,320 minutes, or 24,072 hours, or 143 weeks (rounded down))

33 classes

88 credit hours

1672 hours of setting in class

418 days of classes

44 absences

1,309 hours commuting

67,320 miles commuting

3 different vehicles

In excess of 500 diet Mtn. Dews. (I so wish Belmont would have had Coke products available)

I am so happy to be on this side of these numbers, and I am glad I didn’t do the math in 2011.  The reality is just now beginning to sit in that Law School is now but days away from being an accomplishment and not a goal to start one day.  I have talked, and written many times about focusing on the career after Law School even while in Law School…but allow me to bask in the accomplishment and to congratulate my friends and colleagues who are about to graduate.  Job Well Done!

 

-Brett Knight

2 Comments

Filed under Belmont University College of Law

2 responses to “Law School by the numbers

  1. Tennessee Bar Journal

    This is fantastic, Brett. Tick tock!

  2. Thanks. Its been a great experience…one best appreciated after it is over. 🙂

Leave a comment

