Where do we go from here, now that all of the children have grown up…

First a brief rundown of the latest numbers for school:  19 actual nights of class left, 40 days until our last night of class, 58 days until graduation, 130 days until the bar and 163 days until I go to Switzerland (not that you care about the last one but it is in the countdown timer app).  So with that said, where do we go from here?  We have grown up and it is almost time to move on.  I can tell you where I was when I found out I got into law school, standing in the Dunkin Doughnuts in Sevierville with my BFF Angie.  I about hit the floor and went into immediate panic mode.  A million questions raced through my mind.  What the heck just happened being the first one.  Should I go?  Was it time to take a leap out of nursing, the only thing I had ever done, and go do this crazy law school thing?  Could I really go to law school and be a lawyer?  The answer to all of them was yes. Here it is four years later, and we have all grown up some during this process.

I bet almost every one of us knows when we got the email we had been accepted to law school.  I personally think it is one of those memorable moments.  After I found out I had been accepted to law school, I immediately bought books on what it was like to be a 1L.  First I had to find out what the heck a 1L even was.  That done, I moved on and read those books that tell you all the secrets of surviving your first year of law school.  Pretty much just made me want to puke.  What had I done?  Surely they lied about this incessant reading and exams of three hours in length.  And then I found out they were not lies, but a part of your life as a law student. A not so enjoyable part, but a part nonetheless. 

  I look back on these four years and sometimes wonder, where did they go?  Shannon’s son has grown up and gotten his driver’s license.  The feral esquire’s two little girls are in middle school.  He thinks we have developed Stockholm Syndrome and will be lost when we are done and not in the care of our captors.  He may be right.  We were baby law students that day we all lined up on the front steps of school for our class picture.  Over half of us are gone now and the rest of probably don’t look as happy and healthy as we did back then.  But, we have almost made it.  This is almost done.  We have grown up and are almost ready to go out on our own.  So where do we go from here, now that all of the children have grown up?  Anywhere we choose!

Leave a comment

Filed under LMU Duncan School of Law

Leave a comment

