I’ll see you on the dark side of the moon…

I sometimes feel like I only see the moon.  I come and go in the dark between working all day and school at night.  People seem to have a hard time grasping how exhausting our lives are for those of us who work full-time and go to law school at night.  “Part time” student is really a misnomer, we take twelve hours per semester.  Not so part-time is it?  We have class from 6:15 until 9:30 Monday through Thursday.  My drive home is about 45 minutes, I know some who drive 90 miles each way.  After I get home, I have to get ready for the next day, change out the backpack, get out work clothes and then try to relax and get some sleep.  The  next day will start again at 6:00 a.m. when the alarm goes off.  Am I being whiny?  Perhaps, since I know I chose to do this.  But please just understand how tired we all are.  We have to work, the bills don’t quit just because you are in law school.  We have to study.  We have families, dogs, cats  and kids to deal with.    And we would love to sleep.  Oh how we would  love to sleep.

Often I find myself very unsympathetic to people who complain about having to go to a meeting after work or go do something one night a month.  Neither myself, nor any of my cohort are the people you want to complain to about being at work at 9 a.m. and getting home at 8 p.m.  I get to work at 7:00 a.m. so I can get my time in before I head to school every night.  My days are typically about 17 hours long.  That is the way of most of my friends.  A lot of them have children, or they think they still do.  When I tell people what we go through with our schedules, they always say, “how do you do that?”  To which I reply either “I’m crazy” or “I am perpetually exhausted”, because I am (both things that is).  I don’t know any other way to function now to be honest.  Four years of this and I guess you just assume this is normal. I have said it before and I will say it again, we are tired, we are worn down and pretty much over it all.

I just told Shannon maybe I shouldn’t even post this one because it sounds whiny and grumpy.  She said, no go ahead, its reality for us.  So here it is.  And if you need me, I’ll see you on the dark side of the moon…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment

