Be still.

Seems like the past couple of months I have been everything but still. My life has changed in ways that I never would have planned two years ago. Law school is still law school and will not change regardless of what happens to me. There are responsibilities that I have been forced to give up and many nights that I still cannot not sleep. But even with the lethargy, crying, and pain, something my late grandmother said years ago pops into my head. Be still.

How do I do this? I don’t have a secured job after law school. I know where I would like to work but that’s not a guarantee at this point. Being able to even focus on school has been a struggle because of life. Doctors appointments, missed class, money that I need to fall out of the sky…so much movement. And yet, my grandmother pops into my head again. Be still.

She would always say this when there was a thunderstorm and I would get a little scared. “Be still while God is working.” This statement rings so true in my life right now. Having faith is going to be the key to me finishing law school, getting a job, and taking care of other responsibilities going on in my life. I have to be faithful enough to know that God is going to direct my path and continue to bless me like he has the past 23 years and 11 months of my life.

I have a mother and father that love me and a very supporting sister that would do anything for me. I have friends that are amazing and have supported me in ways I’m sure they don’t fully understand. And most of all I have the person that loves me more than I can ever love anyone else. The one who is always there for me and always protects and guides me. The one who I can depend on when I have no one else. I have my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

So I know this only tangentially touches on what my job search status looks like but I needed to have a small praise party. I haven’t been able to blog much but I will claim this: I WILL have a job. I WILL complete law school. I WILL do the things that I aspire to do in life.

Anything is possible…as long as I know when to be still.

 

3 Comments

Filed under University of Memphis Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law

3 responses to “Be still.

  1. “Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen (lawyers?), I will be exalted in the earth.”Psalm 46:10.

  2. Amen! Be still and let God work in your life and He will bless you beyond you can imagine. Many times, we as humans, get so caught up in the little things of life…we get so anxious…we know God has great plans for our lives, yet we lack patience and try to force something to happen instead of being still and letting God work in our lives. I’ve been going through my own storms in life these last three years of law school and this blog is a blessing to me. So thank you Ms. Higgins for sharing your praise. On a personal note, I have known you for about three years now and I see you growing not only into a great future attorney, but an amazing woman overall! I have seen you at your highest points in law school and I have seen you at some of your lowest points, yet you are still striving to fulfill the purpose God has for you life, and for that you are amazing in my opinion. You WILL have a job… you WILL complete law school…you WILL do things that you aspire to do in life…because God HAS ALREADY done these things in your life. You are a blessing to your family, your colleagues, The Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law at the University of Memphis (the BEST law school in Tennessee), and you have been a blessing to me as a friend. Do not let the storms of life interrupt your time with God. Be still and continue to listen to God….follow His instructions…and have FAITH in where He leads you, because I promise God knows best and has great things for you. I am very proud of the woman you are becoming. Thank you for everything and thank you for this message! Much love Counselor 🙂

    -Anthony Adewumi

  3. Geat advice for now…and going forward.

Leave a comment

