Does community service even matter?

On October 6, 2013, our Black Law Students Association (BLSA) along with attorneys and staff from Legal Aid of East Tennessee (LAET) had the chance to participate in the Making Strides Walk Against Breast Cancer. This event was a 5K non-competitive walk sponsored by the American Cancer Society in Knoxville, Tennessee.

My goal as the team leader was to raise $1000.00 to go towards research. After weeks of fundraising and supportive help from LAET, we met our goal! Prior to the walk, our BLSA organization sold Pink Shirts to raise money for the American Cancer Society. In addition, our Faculty agreed to days where my classmates could wear their pink shirts and avoid the infamous Socratic method. The days were known as “Pink Out Days.”

As I have talked about before I hold October very close to my heart. My sister was diagnosed with Breast Cancer at the young age of 27. She later passed away at the age of 32, and since then I have spent my life spreading the word about the disease.

I think it is extremely important to participate in the community service activities and be active while in law school. However, I wonder, “Is this really going to help me get a job?” I mean do law firms hiring really care that I coordinated a Pink Out Day? I have heard time and time again that grades are the most important thing, but, in my opinion,  community service and project coordination is just as important.

Being a 3L has been a busy road, but I have hope. Hope that one day we will find a cure to Breast Cancer, as well as hope that all my community service will not go in vain.

LMU-DSOL 1L Class.

LMU-DSOL 1L Class.

Knoxville, TN

Knoxville, TN

DSOL 3Ls

2 Comments

Filed under LMU Duncan School of Law

2 responses to “Does community service even matter?

  1. Aisha, Very nice article.

  2. Tennessee Bar Journal

    This is awesome. 🙂

Leave a comment

