I get by with a little help from my friends.

When I found out I had gotten into law school, I remember telling my favorite ER doctor the news.  The first thing he said, “You are becoming part of a fraternity that few are a part of.  The only people who will ever get it, are the people who are in it with you.”  Truer words were never spoken.  Although there are people in my life who have certainly been there and suffered along with me, only those in law school get law school.  The friendships I have made are some that will endure forever.  I think most people who go through this experience can say the same.  The only way to stay sane (or at least partially sane)  is with a little help from my friends.

A group of people thrown into a pit of hell together will either kill each other or band together to fight the evil forces.  I think in law school it happens both ways.  After all, while we are friends, are we not pitted against each other from day one?  We are ranked, graded against each other and learn to argue in court against each other.  But when the exams are over and the oral arguments are done, we are friends.  We all roll our eyes at the gunner, even though we are secretly glad they won’t shut up since we didn’t finish our reading.  We complain about yet another writing assignment.  We love our professors.  We don’t love our professors.  We share outlines we work hours on because our friends have had a rough go lately and need the help.  Kind of an odd phenomenon really.

My best friend Shannon and I are concerned we will hit a down day together sometime.  If the time comes when we both don’t want to go to class or do the assignment due, there could be some sort of nuclear meltdown.  It is by luck this has not happened to date.  When one of us is down, the other is there to say, suck it up and let’s get going.  I’m not sure how I would have made it without her.  During our time together we have lost parents, she got married, I’ve changed jobs, lost dogs, and any number of other things that would be hard enough without law school. Throw this disaster on top of all that and it makes for some ugly times.  BUT, it is almost over.

My other friends are always there when I need them too.  They make me laugh, they laugh at me when I say something stupid or do something insane in class (like a rogue playing of Afternoon Delight during a contracts class one night).  We keep a check on each other, we have to.  Sometimes we feel we only have each other, becuase others don’t get it.  I have that one friend, we will call him “the feral esquire” (his idea not mine), who is there for me always.  When I freaked out over a horrid grade on an exam, he was the person who made me laugh through the tears.  He makes me laugh at everything, and at nothing.  He is the smart kid who explains stuff to me when I’m confused (which is often).  Thank goodness I have had him, he’s the rational one.

To all my friends in law school, thank you.  Thank you for everything.  I could not and would not have made it to this point without you.  I have gotten by with a lot of help from my friends.

Leave a comment

Filed under LMU Duncan School of Law

Leave a comment

