Im a 3L? Yikes!

Those two statements pretty much sum up how I feel at this point. I remember the first day of law school orientation being told, “These three years will fly.” Really? Fly? Prior to school I could recall most things I had done in the past three years, so clearly this was not going to be any different. Furthermore, sitting through a 3 day orientation did not in any way give me the inclination that the days were going to “fly” by. Well folks, here I am. Two and a half years later wondering where in the world did the time go. Who knew? Before I came to law school I was a Medical/Pharmacy School Recruiter. It was not a career path that I had planned. September 11th of 2001 quickly changed those plans. My plans were to become a fast paced stockbroker. I was exposed to this idea as an Economics major at Northeastern University in Boston, Massachusetts.

Northeastern is known as a Cooperative Education  “Co-op” centered university, where most students have the opportunity to work in a field of their interest while in college. Co-op is not the same as an internship. The main difference is while you are participating in co-op, you are getting paid. As a sophomore and junior, I worked for the Boston Stock Exchange and just knew that was where my life was heading. Upon coming home from a semester abroad in Spain, a month later I would witness one of the most horrific events in American history.

Despite today being the twelve-year anniversary of 9/11, I can remember it as if it were yesterday. My college friends and I were sitting in a classroom listening to mundane details of our new job description as residential assistants, and a residential director interrupted the classroom to tell us there had been a terrorist attack on the World Trade Center. Terrorist attack? What does that even mean? As I sat there a great friend of mine, both then and now says, “My father works in the World Trade Center.” At that moment we sat there for what felt like an eternity in silence. It just didn’t register what was really going on. In a matter of seconds things went from slow motion to warp speed. We ran out of the room and ran to our student center, where on large TV screens we saw large explosions coming from the World Trade Center Towers. It was if we were watching some type of action packed movie. We just could not make this vision a reality. From that point, we tried to call my friend’s family to touch base and be assured that her father was okay. In addition, others were trying to reach friends and love ones that worked in the World Trade Center, the surrounding buildings, and those that were on the flights from Boston to New York. We reached no one. Telephone lines were busy, calls were dropped, and phone numbers were called over and over again with no answer. Hours passed…days passed… weeks passed with no word from my friend’s father or many others we knew. A month later it was confirmed, based on zero contact, my friend’s father had passed away. From that moment, our lives were changed forever. Job opportunities became limited and my class was left to try and make sense of all of it. I realized that the finance industry was no longer a route for me and I began to look at what my other talents were. I needed a job and I needed one quickly.

I realized that while in college I was active in student groups and organizations. I truly loved the college experience. A friend of mine mentioned that I should give college recruitment a try, and that ladies and gentlemen is how I got into the field of college recruiting. I enjoyed the experience of being a recruiter. In essence it was the “sales” part of education. It involved number crunching, creating creative solutions, being a counselor, traveling the nation, and managing a team, all of which I am forever thankful for having the opportunity to learn. However, when I turned thirty, I reached a crossroad in my life, where I knew I did not want the recruiting job to become my career. I was searching for something that would change lives, as cliché as that sounds. While in high school I was involved in Mock Trial. It was one of the clubs  I thoroughly enjoyed. While working  as a recruiter, I enjoyed the counseling side of my position. I also enjoyed helping students reach their goals. It was there at that crossroad I combined those interests and realized I wanted to pursue my Juris Doctorate. I later applied and was accepted to Lincoln Memorial University, Duncan School of Law. I had heard of the school prior, due to their Osteopathic Medical Program.

So, I packed my bags, stepped out on faith, and here I am two and a half years later. I honestly cannot believe that my former thought has become a reality. Wow. Now, that I have pinched myself, the new reality is finding a job. I have a strong interest in Civil Rights litigation as well as Elder Law. My ultimate goal is to run for office and open a charter school. However, until then I would like to work at a small firm and gain experience to eventually branch out. I am excited as to what the next chapter holds. Hopefully you will enjoy this ride with me as well.

I am a 3L? Are you sure?

1 Comment

Filed under LMU Duncan School of Law

One response to “Im a 3L? Yikes!

  1. Marlen

    Love your story. Where in Spain you did your semester abroad?

Leave a comment

