The Conscious Endeavor

I know of no more encouraging fact

than the unquestionable ability of man

to elevate his life by conscious endeavor.

Henry David Thoreau

I believe in the conscious endeavor. As a current third year law student constantly thinking about life after law school and the “light at the end of the tunnel,” I am reassured by my personal vision.  Knowing what I am passionate about makes the future an exciting adventure instead of a daunting task.

Two questions commonly asked by future employers during a job interview are: what are you interested in and where do you want to be in five years.  Beyond telling potential future employers the “perfect career services answer,” that you have researched their firm and have the determination and flexibility to move with the firm’s vision.  It is important that we ask ourselves the same question and answer truthfully.

I was fortunate to discover my passion for the arts and business at a young age and have been able to transform my passion into a career.  I grew up in a family and community that appreciated the value art.  With the guidance of my parents and mentors, I knew that I wanted to be a part of the support system that allowed art and entertainment to thrive.

Knowing what I am passionate about and where I see myself in the future has allowed me to take purposeful steps in my legal education to become more informed in my areas of interest and build a network of resources for the future.

I am excited to have the opportunity to share my journey and perspective as a third year law student with the community and look forward to reflecting upon and sharing my personal experiences.

Leave a comment

Filed under Belmont University College of Law

Leave a comment

