“Once a Bottom Feeder, Always a Bottom Feeder?”

In my previous life, I was a used car salesman. Now, I’m going to be a lawyer.  Depending on whom you ask, I’m either improving my lot in life or taking a step backwards. Either way, I am embarking on a new chapter.

My path to becoming an attorney started thirty-four years ago. And yes I know that’s longer than two-thirds of my fellow bloggers have been on this earth. But, what can I say? I got a late start (that’s my story and I’m sticking by it). Anyway, there I was, a bright eyed, bushy tailed, twenty-one year old kid ready to tackle the world. Then life got in the way. And oh boy, did it! But, that’s a story for another time. Suffice to say, I went to work, got married, helped my wife raise our children (“help” being the operative word), and now we are the proud and “very young” grandparents of two, with another on final approach.

Along the way, the businesses I was involved in were sold. With my wife’s encouragement to “do what I wanted to do, not what I had to do”, I took the plunge and entered the Nashville School of Law in August 2010.

Just like everything else these days, there’s a name for what I’m doing. It’s called an “encore career.” If you’re not familiar with the term, don’t rush to whip out the phone or tablet. I’ve looked it up for you. An encore career is a “second act” of sorts whereby people primarily in their 50s and 60s pursue new career paths that are more aligned with their passions and interests. Now, I realize that I’m entering a profession at an age where others of my generation may be planning their exit strategies, but that’s a good thing. Fewer lawyers mean more opportunities for me!

Finally, as you take this journey with me through my last year of law school, look for me to impart to you the good, the bad, and yes, sometimes the ugly. Life is messy and law school is no exception. So, put on your sunglasses and pull up your slickers. We’re in for one heck of a ride!

1 Comment

Filed under Nashville School of Law

One response to ““Once a Bottom Feeder, Always a Bottom Feeder?”

Leave a comment

