The End Is Just the Beginning

I am excited to start this final stage of my law school experience and I am honored to have the opportunity to share it with you.  As I get deeper into each semester, I find that it is very easy to focus too much on the next deadline or the next exam and I confess that I sometimes forget to look around.  So, I am grateful for these chances to reflect and remind myself of who I am, what I do, and why I decided to sign up for three years of this.  The vast majority of my thoughts will lean towards looking ahead to what lies beyond the doors of our law building.  Today, however, I think it is appropriate to remember how I started out on this journey.

I grew up in the small town of Castalian Springs, Tennessee and graduated from Gallatin High School, home of the “Green Wave”.  When I was a teenager, I wanted to become a lawyer so I could help people.  It seemed like a pretty simple plan at the time and I looked for opportunities to learn more about the legal field.  Now, I am 26.  That goal is still at the top of my list, but I have quickly realized that there is much more for me to learn.
When I started my undergraduate degree at the University of Tennessee, a professor introduced me to the field of Social Work.  I pursued a degree in this area with the hopes of better understanding the needs of my future legal clients.  At the same time, I was learning how to better understand my own interests.  My undergraduate and graduate field placements helped me identify that I wanted to work in the areas of family law and juvenile justice.  As I have continued my education, I have seen many instances where Social Work and the law have complemented each other.  My courses in Social Work were never detours; they have enriched my dream to be an advocate.As I approach my final year of law school, I am grateful for the experiences that are behind me, appreciative to the people that walked beside me, and look forward to the lessons that lie ahead.
1 Comment

Filed under University of Tennessee College of Law

One response to “The End Is Just the Beginning

  1. Marlen

    yes, you right. Social work and the law complement each other very well:)

Leave a comment

