An Introduction

My law school experience began with a feeling of the unknown and great stress due to the pedagogy style of the professors and the uncertain status of my grades, especially the first semester.  However, I went from an uncertain first-year student to a more relaxed yet overworked second-year student.   As I begin my third year at the University of Memphis, Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law, I am both excited and relieved about the future.

This year will be the first semester that I am able to select my classes.  I chose to take both practical and theoretically driven courses.  Not only will I have my classes to study for this year, but I am also working as a law clerk for a downtown law firm.   Luckily, my job is located directly in front of the law school.   The law school is also within walking distance to the Shelby County Courthouse, Public Defender’s office, and multiple law firms in downtown Memphis, Tennessee.  This location helps the University of Memphis law students learn the requirements and procedures of the Shelby County court system.

Additionally, I am the Editor-in-Chief of the Mental Health Law & Policy Journal.  It is the first mental health law journal of its kind in the United States, and it was created and established in Memphis, Tennessee.  Because we are in our infancy, our Editorial Board is working hard to plan events, symposiums, and reach out to researchers in the mental health law field.  I am excited to promote this journal and proud that it was started  at the University of Memphis, Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law.

2 Comments

Filed under University of Memphis Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law

2 responses to “An Introduction

  1. Marlen

    would love to know more about the Mental Health Law & Policy Journal.

  2. Caroline Sapp

    Marlen,

    Hi! Thank you for your comment. Our U of Memphis, Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law page is being updated, but check out the Mental Health Law & Policy Journal on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/edit_page/?id=362917687163521&tab=public&view

    Also, if you have any questions or would like to submit an article, please ask me or send questions and/or submissions to mhlpjournal@gmail.com.

Leave a comment

