Pleased to meet you, hope you guessed my name…

Mom always said the older you get, the faster time goes. She clearly did not take into account going to law school for four years. I am starting my fourth year (part-time student) of law school at Duncan School of Law in Knoxville. I’m 44, married with five dogs and no kids, and insane for thinking this would be something cool and easy to do as a mid-life career change.

For 20 years I had worked as an ER nurse and needed a change.  I’ve always had a desire to be an attorney, likely because I can argue with a post if given the chance.  When the opportunity presented itself to go to law school, while still able to work and enjoy the finer things in life like food and gas, I thought, ‘This is it, I can be an attorney!’ I started law school the day my husband returned from his second deployment to Iraq.  Let me say this was not the best idea and leave it at that. 
      Over the course of the last three years, I’ve lost friends, made new ones and kept the ones who have been able to tolerate me and my antics.  I’ve missed parties, movies, television shows, family gatherings and any other assortment of things that one gives up for this tortured path we choose.   Chances are if you are reading this, you are one of the people who have stuck by me through this journey or you want to have sick flashbacks to your last year of law school.  Either way, thanks for reading my blog. 

This will be as cathartic for me as it is funny to you.  I try not to take life too seriously and laugh as much as I can. Sometimes that can get me in trouble, but I still think it is better than being sad all the time.  Anyway, this will be an experience for me to write and you to read.  Now that it’s the last year, I can think back on something my Dad said when I was graduating from nursing school all those years ago… “I can see the light at the end of the tunnel; I just hope it’s not a train.” Heather Shubert

1 Comment

Filed under LMU Duncan School of Law

One response to “Pleased to meet you, hope you guessed my name…

  1. Marlen

    Like your post Heather. We have many things in common. Nothing can intimidate a 20 yrs ER nurse Ha!

Leave a comment

